Light Bodies

My heart feels wide open, bruised, yet tender after the Celebration of Life ceremony for a dear friend. I contemplate how some of us proceed towards death with a tremendous fight, many with a persistent denial and if we are lucky, we greet the inevitable with a welcoming, ‘Ahh, there you are.’ Souls depart in scorching unexpected flashes, others in painfully slow increments.  However we leave, whatever our beliefs are surrounding death, gifts are bestowed in glowing memories to those who love us, to those whom we love, in our infinite connection.

Light Bodies

For Roger

On my birthday you set up your tipi in our back yard.
In its cavern,
like a dark womb
we build a fire,
its belly glowing with the light of a thousand candles.

Friends circle under the canopy held in place by ridgepoles,
twenty saplings lashed together
as ribs from a great beast,
reach through the smoke hole into firmament.

But you remained outside,       a nomad
guitar in hand,          silhouette etched in the door flap

Appeared as a wizard
tracing your source to constellations above.

Did you intuit this slow letting go?
Know even then your body’s temporary home
bones but a lever reaching for the cosmos

while we sat on the dirt floor
listening to your melodies greet the night sky,

us thinking you would always be singing.

About Joan Conway

My artistic passions are poetry and collage. But I am curious human, always exploring new mediums, new opportunities for creative expressions.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Light Bodies

  1. Betty Geier says:

    Joan, thank you so much for your fine, true words. I love the poem, too. It is my favourite in the Light and Shadows book. I didn’t know Roger’s celebration was taking place already. Bill and I would have been there. I love this post. Betty >

    • Joan Conway says:

      I love you Betty, I’m sorry you didn’t see the notification, sometimes people make assumptions about social media.

  2. Ewa says:

    Dearest Joan, that poem is so beautifuly written…….words floating in the sky … I was with all of you in the time of Rogers celebration of life… I imagined somebody playing guitar … Roger loved playing music and his beloved Sai Baba’s Bajans… sometimes we sang them together. He was the true… he was the light …. he made the world better place to live in ….. love to you

  3. Lori says:

    Your tender insightfulness is a gift that you share with us … through beautiful words ….Thankyou Joan 💛

  4. Infinite connections. Love that! ❤️🦋🌀

Leave a comment