Spring Bouquet Homemade Books

My bulbs are emerging from the earth and so, in anticipation for the colours of spring, I have created these homemade books for  journaling or gardening notes.

This style is dos-à-dos binding (from the French meaning “back-to-back). It is a technique where, in this case, three separate books share the same cover. I love this design because it  has different sections to organize  writing.

 

 

 

The dos-à-dos format dates back at least to the 16th century, though they were most common in England in the first half of the 17th century.

I love the button detail, so much fun to create!

 

About Joan Conway

My artistic passions are poetry and collage. But I am curious human, always exploring new mediums, new opportunities for creative expressions.
This entry was posted in Art projects and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring Bouquet Homemade Books

  1. A wonderful way to welcome spring!

Leave a comment