Intimate Windows


dahlias 2
Wandering through the garden, I appreciate the last blast of colour from wine dahlias against a bruised sky, the deep ochre of a Japanese Maple as it hugs the pond, bones exposed with the shedding of leaves as it prepares for rest. In this season of dying back, I reflect on leaving the abundance of summer and all of its offerings. My mind smiles back to the garden tour in July. The last to visit was Char, an intrepid spirit who sailed in, announcing that I had to participate in her show ‘Char Can’t Cook.’ In the spirit of the moment I agreed to be a guest in this small production which features local gardens, traditional recipes and wild food, with the condition that I wouldn’t be making jam in my kitchen with a camera crew trailing behind. Within a few weeks Char appeared true to form with said crew and we spent an enjoyable hour traipsing through the garden, commenting on how I use glass to accentuate the natural beauty of plants and finally ending in the studio where we made a glass piece together.maple 2

In hindsight what I truly appreciate about Char and her show that she so ingeniously created, is that she offers a window to those who love the intimacy of what small towns have to offer. Not only does she go into the heart of a place, whether it be a kitchen or in my case the garden, she supports and show cases individuals with this home brewed series. I appreciate this layer of living here.

As I  wander in the garden to pick one of the last bouquets of the season I am thankful for all the wonderful people who are a part of the fabric of my life and of this town. Cheers Char, and I bet with the history of bakers in your family you really can cook.

Note* Scroll down the link to find many tasty recipes as well as my little tour ‘Glass in the Garden’

About Joan Conway

My artistic passions are poetry and collage. But I am curious human, always exploring new mediums, new opportunities for creative expressions.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Intimate Windows

  1. Liz Forbes says:

    Joan…it is thanksgiving morning and I spent it with you!!! I strolled through your garden and saw your ‘new’ studio and was with you making light catchers with Char…what a treat. I was smiling all through. Such a treat Joan…but what I liked best were your words describing the end of the season…”bruised sky” made me shiver…beautiful writing…thank you..it was lovely seeing you…I need to learn to play…love Liz.

    • Joan Conway says:

      Now that makes me smile, the idea of you traipsing along with me. The fact that my words touch you is as you know what means the most to me. Thank You for seeing me. Hopefully we can visit again person to person. Love to you as well.

Leave a Reply

