‘Rituals’ – The Rivers Speak poetry event

Joan reading.poetry

Nineteen poets gathered to share their passion, reverence, and concern for our northern rivers at ‘The Rivers Speak’ poetry evening. This event was a part of the Terrace Arts Festival Week and was received with much enthusiasm from poets and audience alike. The following is one of the poems I read, thanking the Skeena  for offering me refuge and renewal.

Rituals

Stretching my arms to Skeena River
I come to release the day.
Dislodge biting admissions
the weight of too sad stories,
children set adrift.

Then too my own unravelling,
the air here cool and clean
reaches in between the rib cage
rattles my bones,
shaking loose some belief
that I am more powerful, less powerful.

I give this away to the slow lick of rivers voice.
It curls into breath, penetrates eyelids
envelopes my smallness
curious  seductive,
Skeena pulls me into its embrace.

Turn me river, turn me back to my child self
to my thirst for living.
Sweep me amongst the cottonwoods and wild rose,
the bracken ferns.
Displace this separation
until I too am filled with light.

 

About Joan Conway

My artistic passions are poetry and collage. But I am curious human, always exploring new mediums, new opportunities for creative expressions.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ‘Rituals’ – The Rivers Speak poetry event

  1. Agatha says:

    very beautiful and truthful poem, we are so lucky Skeena is nearby ,like a sister who embrace and inspire

Leave a Reply

