Passion

While last week my writing focused on compassion, this week I am exploring passion. Some interesting questioned emerged:

  • what would happen if we engaged with the fire in the belly
  • are our passions pulling us towards something that’s important or are they helping us to pull away from something we want to avoid
  • do we pay attention to our slow deep passions as well as to our fiery ones

Opening

All winter
oriental lilies collect themselves.Oriental lilies
It takes this long to prepare
for their outburst.

Bulbs slumber under
a snow mantel
awaken to rain bruised sky
stalks press dank leaves
their slow holding on.

Who remembers during February’s pressing fog
single blossoms spill over your palm
their essence heave against
fence posts, bamboo stakes tremble

Fragrance soaked air,
imagine reeling with desire
opening without refrain.

About Joan Conway

My artistic passions are poetry and collage. But I am curious human, always exploring new mediums, new opportunities for creative expressions.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Passion

  1. Christine says:

    Beautiful writing. I am in awe

  2. Joan Conway says:

    Thank-you so much Christine for your thoughtful words- so much a reflection of who you are.

  3. Patricia Vickers says:

    I appreciate the beauty and “passion” in your poem. (:

  4. Beautiful poem and photo, Joan. I love the fresh colours, and now I’m hankering for July so that I can watch my lilies bloom. (Martha Swinn)

Leave a Reply

