Do Trees Tire

I began an online writing course called ‘Writing Our Self Alive’ on  http://writingourwayhome.ning.com. This first week I am paying attention to my curiosity, exploring how to “open my eyes a little wider. When I am curious I stay a little longer, and  approach objects with more persistence.” Through the exercises I allow myself to be distracted and go on detours; to follow my curiosity and pay attention to the details.

Several nights this week it has been difficult to sleep with the  wind storms.  One such night  in my curious state I asked, ‘How are these trees feeling?’

Awakened, my body wrapped
in flannel sheets, head buttedBranches
into feather pillows,
there is no rest.

Massive Spruce  hurl their limbs
in surf pounding crescendos
         rising
crashing down,
over this a wild cry
slender alder  whip their arms,
torsos gyrate, weakened branches crack.

Do  trees  tire or are they caught
in this frenzy,
released as Sufi dancers whirling to the cosmos.  

About Joan Conway

My artistic passions are poetry and collage. But I am curious human, always exploring new mediums, new opportunities for creative expressions.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

