Gratitude for 2012

My experience with the holiday season is often precarious; expectations or previous layers of family history  get in the way of appreciating or just allowing -what is- to unfold. This year I had a strong insight. As my younger son was leaving after a few days of lovely connecting time, I was filled with  a sense of loss. I caught myself, realizing instead I could focus on all of the positive things that happened during his visit, that there was much to be grateful for. This decision  inspired me to work on a collage in my art journal as a way  of acknowledging and celebrating the end of the year.

A few days later I  watched ‘The Story of Pi.’ Without getting into the plot, the movie ended on a very profound note. Essentially the narrator left us  to decide which story was the truth, one  was a quest  exploring deep spiritual concepts, the other a survivalist tale exposing  the darker forces of human nature. No answers were given, we were allowed to make the choice of what to believe in. This was in sync with my reflections on the past year. I choose to acknowledge my year through the eyes of gratitude, knowing that even the challenging times, (and there were many) bring me to a place of deeper wisdom, and growth. When I am grateful I am in a state of grace, not in control but accepting the beauty of life with all of its challenges. I am aware that the practice of being grateful is one that must be cultivated. Leaving the year with a feeling of fullness is one that opens me up to beginning the next  with a sense of abundance. I am not half empty, I am enough and more.

gratitude 2012As you celebrate  the closure of this year, bringing your intentions into 2013, may your awareness be filled with the beauty of life with all of its offerings.

About Joan Conway

My artistic passions are poetry and collage. But I am curious human, always exploring new mediums, new opportunities for creative expressions.
This entry was posted in Art Journaling and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gratitude for 2012

  1. Liz M Forbes says:

    thank you Joan for this wonderful entry…it resonated with me..I too am blessed with gratitude this year..family matters and i am grateful for all the people in my life…I love your Pi in your art journal..i read the book recently and look forward to the movie..love to you both..Liz

    • Joan Conway says:

      Hello Liz Maybe we’ll get a chance to visit this summer if Feile and Marko have a wedding celebration?? All the best to you and Grant in the New Year Love Joan

Leave a Reply

